top of page

Blood Pressure

Updated: May 30, 2023

A general guideline for categorizing blood pressure based on severity using millimeters of mercury (mmHg):

  1. Normal blood pressure: Systolic blood pressure (the top number) below 120 mmHg and diastolic blood pressure (the bottom number) below 80 mmHg are considered normal.

  2. Prehypertension: Systolic blood pressure between 120-139 mmHg or diastolic blood pressure between 80-89 mmHg are considered prehypertension and may indicate an increased risk for developing hypertension.

  3. Hypertension stage 1: Systolic blood pressure between 140-159 mmHg or diastolic blood pressure between 90-99 mmHg are considered hypertension stage 1 and may indicate the need for lifestyle modifications or medication to lower blood pressure.

  4. Hypertension stage 2: Systolic blood pressure above 160 mmHg or diastolic blood pressure above 100 mmHg are considered hypertension stage 2 and may require prompt medical attention and treatment.

It's important to note that blood pressure may vary depending on the individual's age, health status, and other factors. Additionally, some medical conditions or medications may affect blood pressure. If you are concerned about your blood pressure or if you experience symptoms such as headache, dizziness, or chest pain, it's important to seek medical attention.


  1. American Heart Association. (n.d.). Understanding Blood Pressure Readings

  2. National Institute on Aging. (n.d.). High Blood Pressure

  3. American College of Cardiology. (2017). 2017 Guideline for High Blood Pressure in Adults

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All



Questions about MAIA?

Bee Cave Road, Suit 200, Austin, Texas -78746, United States

Unique request format

  • Instagram - Círculo Blanco
  • Facebook - círculo blanco
  • Twitter - círculo blanco
  • LinkedIn - círculo blanco
MAIA White.png

© 2022 Powered by

MED-logotipo blanco-RGB.png
bottom of page