top of page


Updated: May 30, 2023

A general guideline for categorizing pain level based on severity using a pain scale:

  1. Mild pain: Pain level between 1-3 on a scale of 0-10 is considered mild pain and may be described as discomfort or annoyance.

  2. Moderate pain: Pain level between 4-6 on a scale of 0-10 is considered moderate pain and may be described as distressing or uncomfortable.

  3. Severe pain: Pain level between 7-10 on a scale of 0-10 is considered severe pain and may be described as intolerable or debilitating.

It's important to note that pain is subjective and can vary widely among individuals. Additionally, pain may be influenced by a variety of factors, including the cause of pain, the individual's age and health status, and other physical and emotional factors. Treatment for pain may involve a combination of medications, physical therapy, and other interventions, and any concerns about pain level should be addressed by a healthcare professional.


  1. Cleveland Clinic. (n.d.). How to Measure Pain.

  2. National Institutes of Health. (n.d.). Pain: Hope Through Research.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Questions about MAIA?

Bee Cave Road, Suit 200, Austin, Texas -78746, United States

Unique request format

  • Instagram - Círculo Blanco
  • Facebook - círculo blanco
  • Twitter - círculo blanco
  • LinkedIn - círculo blanco
MAIA White.png

© 2022 Powered by

MED-logotipo blanco-RGB.png
bottom of page